Thirteen Artists Awards 2015 winners named


Thirteen Artists Awards 2015 winners named.

An exhibit featuring the winners' works will open in September 2015

Published 3:35 PM, April 29, 2015
Updated 3:35 PM, Apr 29, 2015

11 of the Thirteen Artists awardees with jurors Jaime de Guzman, Julie Lluch, Mark Justiniani, Pamela Yan-Santos (extreme left); with CCP Director of Visual Arts and Museum Division Boots Herrera, 13 Artists exhibit curator Jonathan Olazo, trophy designer Juan Alcazaren and CCP Vice President Chris Millado (extreme right). Photo provided by Claire Agbayani

MANILA, Philippines – The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) has announced the winners of the Thirteen Artists Awards, which since 2009 has occurred once every 3 years.
The 2015 Thirteen Artists awardees are Buen Abrigo, Martha Atienza, Zean Bajar Cabangis, Ernest Concepcion, Vermont Coronel, Dexter Fernandez, Mark Andy Garcia, Nikki Luna, Hanna Pettyjohn, Mervy Pueblo, Mark Valenzuela, Alvin Zafra, and Jeona Zoleta.
This year’s jurors included past awardees – Jaime de Guzman (1970), Mark Justiniani (1994), Julie Lluch (1990), Pam Yan-Santos (2009), with Boots Herrera, VAMD Director, representing the CCP.
According to the release, "winners will receive a cash grant to defray cost of materials for producing new work for a group exhibition at the Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery). The exhibit opening on 3 September 2015 will be highlighted with the formal recognition of winners." 
– with reports from Claire Agbayani/